Momoko: A Personal Album

Momoko: A Personal Album

I’ve got so much material on Momoko Tsugunaga, who recently departed Hello! Project after 15 years to teach Kindergarten, that I’ve decided to break it up into different parts. This first will be devoted to pictures I took of her: in New Jersey, Paris and Yokohama. I had a press pass for the first two trips, but not the third. I was fortunate to be able to see her and photograph her with all three of her H!P groups, Berryz Kobo, Buono! and Country Girls.

Berryz Kobo came to AnimeNext in New Jersey in June 2012 and although I didn’t get to take many solo shots of her in the limited time I was given to photograph the group, I thought I’d share these shots, the first set from the concert and the second set from the Q&A (during the brief period we were allowed to take pix): 

And here’s the Berryz photo the group autographed for me. Notice Momoko’s drawing over her image:

I got to take many more pix at Japan Expo in Paris in July 2014, where Berryz Kobo and C-ute made a joint appearance, including shots of her at the signing events, the Q&A and the joint concert with C-ute, including her set with Buono! First, the signings: 

After the second pic (above), she asked me, “Kawaii?” and I’m glad I had the presence of mind to respond in Japanese: “Hai, kawaii desu.”

Then the Q&A:

Then in concert with Berryz:

And with Buono!:

And then back with Berryz:

 …before being joined by C-ute for the final set:

Finally, I got to see her with Country Girls onstage at the Satoyama/Satoumi Event at Pacifico Yokohama in Japan on the same day as HinaFest, March 19, 2016.

Next up: Momoko: The Early Years

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

